Hiker Tim Voors Believes You Need Time to Yourself: Who is this homeless guy sitting at the table?

In an episode of the World Nomads Podcast I spoke with Tim Voors who spent six months away from his family hiking the Pacific Crest Trail in the United States, testing his mental and physical endurance.

“You know, in our society we generally do everything together as partners with your wife and your children. I also felt it was sort of good or healthy to not do everything together… so you can be who you are as an individual and grow.”

“I think just spending so much time out of the bubble that you know of work and family and friends, it just gives you time to reflect. I wouldn’t say it changed me like in one way very big, but it changed lots of little things in a very small way.”

“They (family) do make a lot of jokes and I think it’s very humbling also …I think the role that I played before as a father and after is very different in that, in the way I sort of interact with my children.”

To hear more about Tim’s six-month trek, his encounter with a rattlesnake and why he had to use the SOS button on his sat-nav listen to Tim Voors: The Power of the Wilderness.

Leave a comment

Start a Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑